Voting and Elections Icon

Upcoming elections

Tees Valley Mayoral election

The results of the Tees Valley Mayoral election are now available. Residents of Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, and Stockton-on-Tees have elected Ben Houchen as the first Tees Valley Mayor.

Read the Tees Valley Mayoral election results in full.

Parliamentary election

On Thursday 8 June 2017, voters across the country will go to the polls to elect the Member of Parliament for their constituency. Electors within Middlesbrough will be voting in either the Middlesbrough Constituency or Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland Constituency.

Key dates

Monday 22 May 2017, is the last date to register to vote in the Parliamentary Election. If your name is not on the Electoral Register by this date you will not be able to vote in this election. If you believe that you are not registered, you can register online via (please note that you will need your date of birth and National Insurance number). Alternatively, you can contact the Elections team on 01642 729771.

Tuesday 23 May 2017 (5pm) is the deadline to apply for a Postal Vote or a Postal Proxy Vote, or change or cancel an existing Postal Vote or Postal Proxy Vote, for the Parliamentary Election.

Wednesday 31 May 2017 (5pm) is the deadline to apply for a Proxy Vote for the Parliamentary Election. A Proxy Vote is when you nominate another person to vote on your behalf.

To obtain a Postal Vote, Postal Proxy Vote or a Proxy Vote contact the Elections Team on 01642 729771.

View the full timetable of key dates.